What is TEPSA

The Trans European Policy Studies Association (TEPSA) is the first transeuropean research network in the field of European affairs. It consists of leading research institutes in the field of European affairs throughout Europe, with an office in Brussels. TEPSA’s aim is to provide high quality research on European integration based on a ‘Triple A’ approach: Analysis, Assessment and Advice in order to stimulate discussion on policies and political options for Europe.

The network was established in 1974 as an international non-profit association under Belgian law. Ever since 1974 it has steadily increased its membership in response to the enlargement rounds of the European Union. Today TEPSA consists of 38 member institutes and associate members located in 35 European countries. TEPSA and its member institutes have engaged in a two-fold approach providing expertise on EU policies and politics combined with a vast experience in organising and conducting EU-wide research, training and networks.

With its decentralised approach, TEPSA combines the strengths of its members and enriches the results of their work. TEPSA exemplifies the ‘bottom-up’ approach to European governance. TEPSA and its member institutes are a link between the EU and national level governments and the citizens. TEPSA aims at stimulating discussion on policies and political options by organising research projects, conferences and facilitating interaction between the research and policy-making communities and between citizens from different member states. TEPSA’s activities are undertaken in close cooperation with partners ranging from TEPSA member institutes from all over Europe to EU institutions, national governments, universities and civil society.

The association is governed by its members via a general management organ (the General Assembly), which elects the administration organ (the Board) for a period of three years. The chairperson of the TEPSA Board is Prof Dr Micheal Kaeding, Jean Monnet Chair ad personam at the University of Duisburg-Essen. The Secretary General, responsible for the daily management of the association, is Prof Dr Jaap de Zwaan, Lector in European Integration at the The Hague University for Applied Sciences and Emeritus Professor of European Union Law at Erasmus University Rotterdam. TEPSA’s Brussels office employs 3 to 5 staff members. The organisation has diverse sources of funding, which can be categorised under four pillars: membership fees, co-financed joint activities, EU funded projects such as PONT and FEUTURE, and studies for the European Parliament.

TEPSA’s flagship event, the TEPSA Pre-Presidency Conference, is a bi-annual forum in which TEPSA member institutes discuss the priorities of the incoming Council Presidency and other topics relevant to the current and future EU agenda with representatives from national and European political institutions, civil society, the media and academia. TEPSA provides its input by formulating and presenting recommendations to the incoming Presidency and to the EU more broadly.

TEPSA has recently won an ERASMUS+/Jean Monnet Support to Institutions project, named ‘PONT – Professional Training on EU Affairs‘, aiming at providing a bridge connecting young academics and EU practitioners, in order to improve the employability of young researchers. TEPSA is a partner in the Horizon 2020-funded project ‘FEUTURE – The future of EU-Turkey relations‘. TEPSA also delivers expertise to the European Parliament by elaborating studies or briefings or organising workshops in the field of development cooperation and human rights.

TEPSA continues to broaden its membership. This enlargement process is steered by the TEPSA Board and voted upon at TEPSA’s General Assembly. TEPSA also continues to look for new partnerships and funding opportunities for the future.

For more information please contact TEPSA’s Head of Office Mariam Khotenashvili.

Click here to download TEPSA’s Statutes.