“Preparing for Belgium’s Thirteenth Presidency of the Council of the European Union”, Jean De Ruyt (Egmont, Belgium)

The six months’ rotating presidency of the Council dates from the beginning of the European Economic Community. Belgium was the first to hold it, in the first half of 1958. In 2024, we will preside again, for the 13th time. When the Community contained only six members, the presidency occurred every three years; in today’s Union of 27, you have to wait 14 years. Our last EU presidency was in the second half of 2010. 

Read more here.