LISBOAN – Linking Interdisciplinary Integration Studies by Broadening the European Network


European Commission

Funding Program:
EU Lifelong Learning Programme

Project duration:

University of Cologne (Germany), Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften (Austria), Austrian Institute for International Affairs (Austria), Universität Salzburg (Austria), Dipl. Akademie Wien (Austria), Universiteit Ghent (Belgium), Université catholique de Louvain (Belgium), Bulgarian European Community Studies Association (Bulgaria), University of Cyprus Cost(Cryprus), Trans European Policy Studies Association (TEPSA) (Belgium), New Bulgarian University (Bulgaria), Plovdiv University (Bulgaria), Charles University Prague (Czech Republic), Institute of International Relations Prague (Czech Republic), Danish Institute for International Studies (Denmark), Roskilde University (Denmark), University of Copenhagen (Denmark), University of Tartu (Estonia), Sciences Po Bordeaux (France), Université de Rennes (France), Humboldt Universität Berlin (Germany), Institut für Europäische Politik (Germany), Universität Duisburg-Essen (Germany), Universität Trier (Germany), Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy (Greece), Budapest College of Communication (Hungary), Institute for World Economics (Hungary), University of Iceland (Iceland), University College Dublin (Ireland), University of Bologna (Italy), Istituto Affari Internazionali (Italy), LUISS Guido Carli (Italy), Riga Stradins University (Latvia), Hochschule Liechtenstein (Liechtenstein), Vilnius University (Lithuania), Centre d’études et de recherches européennes Robert Schuman (Luxembourg), European Institute of Public Administration (EIPA) (The Netherlands), University of Maastricht (The Netherlands), University Twente (The Netherlands), University of Oslo (Norway), Foundation for European Studies/European Institute Lodz (Poland), Warsaw School of Economics  (Poland), Instituto Superior de Economia et Gestao, Tech. University of Lisbon (Portugal), Babes-Bolyai University (Romania), European Institute in Romania (Romania), University of Oradea (Romania), Comenius University (Slovakia), University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), Institute of European Studies Universidad Autonoma Barcelona (Spain), University of Malaga (Spain), Karlstad University (Sweden), Swedish Institute of International Affairs (Sweden), Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (Sweden), Middle East Technical University (Turkey), Sabanci University (Turkey), Federal Trust for Education and Research (UK), University of Liverpool (UK), University of Sheffield (UK), University College London (UK), University of Tampere (Finland), University of Athens (Greece), Netherlands Institute of International Relations

LISBOAN (Linking Interdisciplinary Integration Studies by Broadening the European Academic Network) is a network of 67 partner institutions including 16 TEPSA institutes (TEPSA is also a member) from all EU member states as well as Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Turkey. Its aim is to strengthen cooperation between institutions of higher education and research in Europe with a view to teaching and researching the Treaty of Lisbon, the European Union’s legal foundation since December 2009. LISBOAN is funded under the European Union’s Lifelong Learning Programme, from October 2010 – September 2013.

Overview of LISBOAN activities

The main elements of the network are:

  • Three annual conferences (including annuel working group meetings) bringing together members from all 67 partner institutions. The First Annual Conferenceof LISBOAN will take place in Brussels on 16th and 17th June 2011.
  • Twelve specialized workshops, at least one per themativ work package,
  • Three PhD-Schools,
  • A lecture series comprosing threee annual guest lectures,
  • Annual reports (Lisbon Watch) with brief contributions from partner institutes.

Latest News:

view all