TEPSA General Assembly in Berlin held virtually

On the occasion of the traditional TEPSA Pre-Presidency Conference, the TEPSA General Assembly convened for its ordinary biannual meeting, chaired by Lucia Mokrá, Chairperson of the TEPSA Board. Both the Pre-Presidency Conference and General Assembly was to be held in Berlin, Germany. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was held virtually via Zoom.

The TEPSA General Assembly, composed by representatives from all TEPSA Member Institutes, elected Jim Cloos as TEPSA Secretary-General. Cloos is currently serving as Director General for General and Institutional Policy at the Council of the European Union, and will be taking over from Prof. Jaap de Zwaan, who serves currently as Secretary-General, as of 1 January 2021

A number of other agenda items were discussed by the General Assembly, including TEPSA’s efforts to stay working to produce high-quality research during the COVID-19 crisis, and accompanying measures to ensure this can be done safely. Also discussed were the upcoming TEPSA Book “Euroscepticism and the Future of Europe: Views from the Capitals”, and the activities of ongoing TEPSA Projects: DiCE – Differentiation: Clustering Excellence, InDivEU – Integrating Diversity in the European Union, VIADUCT – Enhancing VIsibility of the Academic DialogUe on EU-Turkey CooperaTion, and Expertise for the European Parliament.